Worth the hype? Lancôme Génifique Yeux Light Pearl

Yes, I’m on a roll with skincare reviews!

Lancôme recently sent me their “Génifique Yeux Light-Pearl Eye-Illuminating Youth Activator” (Phew! Quite a mouthful) with three other sample products to try out. Wonder why Lancome always have such long names for their products :/

IMG_1784
Lancôme Génifique Yeux Light-Pearl Eye-Illuminating Youth Activator

I was super excited to receive it as one of the samples they sent me was the Génifique Youth Activator Serum which I had heard great things about and have always wanted to try it.

IMG_2035
Lancôme Génifique and Lancôme Vissionaire

Génifique Yeux Light-Pearl Eye-Illuminating Youth Activator is a light eye serum that claims to reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.

Lancome Claims:

For a younger-looking and brighter eye contour.
With the unique massaging 360° Light Pearl™ applicator, our multitasking skincare eye serum refreshes eyes by smoothing the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, reducing dark circles and under eye bags.

Benefits: Reduces the appearance of under eye bags, crow’s feet, wrinkles and fine lines around the eye contour and dark circles. Eye area appears brighter and smoother.

Ingredients:

Water, Bifida Ferment Lysate, Propanediol, Glycerin, Alcohol Denat., Dimethicone, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Escin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol, Adenosine, Caffeine, Polyacrylamide, Chlorphenesin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract, Salicyloyl Phytosphingosine, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Ammonium Polyacryldimethyltauramide / Ammonium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, Dimethiconol, Pentaerythrityl Tetraethylhexanoate, Xanthan Gum, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Bis-Peg/Ppg-16/16 Peg/Ppg-16/16 Dimethicone, Bht, Laureth-7.

It comes without any Parabens, Sulfates or Phthalates which is amazing! That said, it doesn’t mean it contains no alcohol or chemicals.

IMG_1798
Lancôme Advanced Génifique Yeux Eye Serum Light-Pearl

It comes in a heavy and sturdy silver glass bottle and looks pretty impressive with the steel cap. But what I LOVE about the bottle is the tear drop shaped 360° Light Pearl™ applicator made of Titanium! I have never quite come across a tool that massages the under eye area and this one’s nailed it!! OMG it’s sooo cool and relaxing when you roll it under your eyes though it dispenses way more product than what you really need.

IMG_1840
Lancôme Advanced Génifique Eye Serum Applicator

The serum is fragrance-free and has a slippery gel like consistency and the application is super smooth. I could really swivel this around my eyes all day! However the serum doesn’t get soaked into the skin very fast. It leaves the skin feeling a bit tacky :/ So this is not something you wanna use during the day.

The thought of dipping the applicator back into the bottle after use makes me feel a bit icky. That’s not very hygienic, Lancôme! Plus the product gets in touch with air every time we open the bottle as the bottle lid opens completely with each use.

I have been using this from around a mouth as a post-shower eye regime at night. Other than the dimethicone filler effect I haven’t noticed any reduction in my fine lines or eye contour. Neither did I notice any “Illuminating” effects as the name suggests. I don’t have crow feet around my eyes, so can’t really comment on it.

I must say I liked the Yeux eye cream more than the serum. It dries to a well moisturized feel around the eyes, but again I did not see any visible changes in my fine lines or dark circles.

IMG_2028
Lancome Genefique Yeux Eye Cream

I was really excited about the Génifique Youth Activating Concentrate, but it broke me out on the first use. It’s fragrance free and I also liked the watery gel consistency. I was persistent and continued for two more days, but my skin flared up and hence I was forced to stop using it. Why does it always happen when I’m super excited about trying something? Very disappointed! 😦

IMG_2043
Lancôme Advanced Génifique Youth Activating Concentrate

The last product in the set is not from the Génifique range, however including it here as it was a set. I have no idea what the Vissionaire Advanced Skin Corrector is supposed to do. It didn’t cover my pores before or after makeup and it’s very hard to use it as the thin applicator won’t pick up enough product. The product turns pink upon contact with air, did anyone else notice it?

IMG_2069
Lancome Vissionaire Advanced Skin Corrector

Overall, I’m not impressed with the Génifique range and for the price it’s definitely not worth the hype! I’m not sure if I’m the only one who’s not impressed with the product as I see everyone else raving about it. Nonetheless, I am brutally honest with my review 🙂

Lancôme Génifique Light-Pearl Eye-Illuminating Youth Activator is available here for USD69 if you’re interested to try.

Have you already tried the Lancôme Génifique range? What are your thoughts on it?

One Comment Add yours

  1. need to try thi one as well! loved the original Genifique for the eyes! lots of xx, Annie | Annie’s Beauty

    Like

Leave a Reply

