Sneak Peek: Korean Hydro Gel Mask

I’ve recently hopped on the K-beauty and sheet mask bandwagon AND in a big way! I always thought regular cream face masks are the best, but I was completely unaware of the goodness of sheet masks until I tried one.

The sheet mask in test today is THELAVICOS Nutrition Hydro Gel Mask.

IMG_2898.JPG
THELAVICOS Nutrition Hydro Gel Mask

One of the major ingredients include Swiftlet Nest Extract. Wikipedia tells me these nests are created by Swiftlets using solidified saliva! The more I think about it the more I’m grossed out. Anyway, ignoring the saliva bit and moving on – this also comes with other amazing ingredients including Soybean ferment extract, Adenosine, Niacinamide (I’ve fallen in love with this ingredient ever since I was introduced to Olay products) and Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide.

IMG_2985.JPG

The sheets come in a box of 5, each individually packed. The mask itself is a transparent silicon-y gel sheet soaked in the amazing serum. It comes in two pieces, one for the top part of your face and another piece for your lips, cheeks and chin. It’s a bit baffling at first, I took some time to figure out which one goes where, while the serum kept dripping on the floor (Oh so precious serum!) but then you just get used to it 🙂

Usage Instruction:

1.After cleansing & toner, apply the sheet on your face

(The side with the transparent film should be used)

2.Remove after 20-30 minutes and gently tap with your fingers to help absorb the remaining serum on your face.

3.Use it two to three times a week

The sheet mask gets really slimy as you apply, but sets in just right after a few minutes. It clings to your skin and I love that feeling of something hugging my skin! You have to feel it to know what I mean 🙂 After 30 minutes, you remove and toss the mask. Then you gently massage the left over serum on your face. It doesn’t really get absorbed completely. Me being me, I just left it like that and went to sleep. I woke up to a soft and supple skin, it just felt amazing!

Even after you apply the sheet there’s loads of serum left in the pouch, I massaged some onto my neck and saved the rest for later and used it as a night time serum for the next two days.

I only wish all sheet masks came with a bit that covered the neck as well. I’m impressed with the results though it did not whiten my skin – Perfect for some me-time and when your skin begs for some TLC! Can’t comment on the anti-wrinkle claim as I think it’s more of a long term effect and can’t be noticed with just five uses.

That being said, I will NOT be promoting or purchasing this product as it uses Swiftlet nest extract as the harvesting process is a bit too disturbing to me. I think it’s cruel to snatch nests from birds. They make nests for a reason, though they can make additional ones it is just not justifiable to use it for human selfishness. As a animal lover, my heart bleeds for the poor birdies 😥

My hunt for the perfect sheet mask will continue.

Love,

N

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. phillygirl77 says:

    Hats off to you for even trying this product and researching the ingredients. I don’t think I could use it either after finding out that it contains bird saliva. YUCK!😯🐔

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

