Bee’s Brilliance: Absolutely ‘honey’!

I love anything and everything honey! When an entire skincare line was inspired by honeybees I knew I would love it!!

I was recently sent a range of skincare products from Bee’s Brilliance, New Zealand. I don’t think there’s a better name for such a skincare range that justifies the brilliance of honey! What’s better? The skincare range is not made out of regular honey, but New Zealand’s own and special Manuka honey!! As the founder of the brand, Matthew Cropp says “There is a piece of New Zealand in every jar”!

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-17 at 17.10.48 (1)
Bee’s Brilliance Skincare Range

I was quite surprised with the quality of packaging of their products – Excellent design as you can see and the quality of the jars and bottles are pretty much like high end brands. I was sent a Manuka Honey Exfoliating Cleanser, Honey & Propolis Cleanser, Skin Brightening Overnight Mask, Skin Brightening Corrective Serum, Original Manuka Honey Mask and a set of soap in the uber cute bronze tins.

Manuka Honey Exfoliating Cleanser:

This is a gentle cream cleanser with Manuka honey, Manuka oil, Pumice and Walnut to scrub away dead skin cells.

A gently yet effective exfoliating cleanser, to help remove dead skin cells without stripping the skin of its essential oils

  • Manuka Honey: A liquid golden humectant, rich with natural sugars, amino-acids, and vitamins. Manuka Honey is revered for its scientifically-proven skin healing properties.
  • New Zealand Manuka Oil: Renowned for its potent anti-microbial and anti-acne properties.
  • Pumice & Walnut: A blend of two mild exfoliants, to manually assist removing dirt and dead skin cells. Biodegradable as well as renewable, unlike the plastic micro-beads.

The exfoliating particles are not too harsh on the skin as some walnut scrubs are, but very gentle while sweeping away the dry and dead cells to give a nice and polished skin. I absolutely love how it works on my skin. You only need a tiny bit of the cleanser, so this product would easily last for 40-50 days if you use it twice a week.

Honey & Propolis Cleanser:

You all know how much I love cream cleansers and this is with no doubt one of the best cream cleansers I have used!

A gently cream cleanser to help remove make up and grime from the skin and pores, without drying.

  • Manuka Honey: A liquid golden humectant, rich with natural sugars, amino-acids, and vitamins. Manuka Honey is revered for its scientifically-proven skin healing properties.
  • Propolis: A red or brown resin-like substance, bees collect from tree bark and buds. Rich in bio-flavonoids, Propolis is well known for its anti-microbial properties and is regarded as a great skin reviver.
  • Bee Pollen Oil: A golden organic oil rich in amino acids, vitamins and minerals. Bee Pollen is packed with vital nutrients to feed the skin and encourage regeneration.

I love the smell of this cleanser, it feels like you’re pouring honey cream on your skin. The consistency is neither too thick nor runny. The product works beautifully in removing makeup (Note I don’t use waterproof makeup, so can’t say how it removes waterproof makeup) and especially stubborn liquid lipsticks with ease. The bottle is quite sturdy and comes with a lockable pump which is great when you travel. A single bottle of this cleanser would easily last you a month even if you use daily.

Original Manuka Honey Mask:

This is a pot of gold to me! A sturdy glass jar full of manuka honey goodness and sugar – Absolute bliss!

IMG_4271.JPG

A real and thick honey mask formulated with 40% active New Zealand Manuka Honey. This melting honey mask works to restore, replenish and comfort skin with a formula that contains a high content of active Manuka Honey (85+).

  • Manuka Honey (85+ Methylglyoxal Leptospermum Scoparium Mel): A liquid golden natural humectant that draws moisture to the skin. Rich with natural sugars, amino-acids, and Methylglyoxal to help feed the skin with vital vitamins and minerals.
  • Bee Pollen Oil: A nutrient rich organic oil, loaded with lots of vital proteins to help restore a natural healthy glow.
  • Glycerine: Vegetable derived a natural humectant drawing and keeping moisture in the skin.
  • Meadowfoam Oil: Locks in skin’s natural moisture to help prevent dryness and soften the skin.

Pre-special occasion treatment to make skin feel softer, smoother and more supple, it is instantly effective following use.

This mask is a boon to my dry dehydrated skin! It’s like smearing your face with honey, it smells like heaven and I have to be honest – I even eat a bit of it everytime (in spite of the brand recommending not to consume it) coz’ I just can’t resist!! This stuff is seriously good! I leave it on for as long as I want, sometimes 45 minutes because it doesn’t really dry down like regular face masks. I then use a damp warm cloth to remove it. My skin feels super supple after I use it. But you need to be careful not to get it anywhere close to your hair line as it can be quite sticky on the hair because of the ingredients.

The only thing I would change in this product is the lid as the product leaks out from the sides (Read update below) if you keep it tilted by accident – so not very travel friendly I would say. But with such great product inside I can’t complain!

*Update: The manufacturer has advised that the jar is now pressure sealed to stop leaking during travel, which is amazing! ❤

Skin Brightening Overnight Mask:

This luxurious, multi-benefit cream fights fine lines and wrinkles at night to firm, tone and tighten skin’s appearance. Wake up to a deeply hydrated complexion that looks refreshed, radiant and revitalized.

  • Manuka Honey: Natures liquid gold full of proteins, amino acids, vitamins and minerals. Amino acids slough away dead skin and keep pores clear. Enhances skin elasticity and cell regeneration.
  • Peony Root Extract: Assists with helping prevent skin coloration.
  • Sakura Extract: Protects against sun damage. Anti-inflammatory.
  • Liquorice Root Extract: Protects. Anti-inflammatory.
  • Sepilift: Is a plant-derived, oil-soluble wrinkle-correcting agent that moisturizes and smoothes the signs of aging skin. It firms the tissues by stimulating the contraction of collagen fibers.
  • Bee Venom: Is the venom collected from the honeybee, Apis melifera. Consisting mainly of Melittin, it gently stimulates the skin for a natural anti-aging effect on fine lines and wrinkles.

This product is bit of a thick cream that is to be applied before sleep and you can wash it off the next morning. I am surprised at how it brightens my skin overnight, unfortunately my skin doesn’t like it. I break out every time I use it (Read update below). So I had to discontinue use. I really can’t figure out which ingredient in this irritates my skin 😦 Such a bummer!

*Update: The brand informed me that they have reformulated the sleeping mask to suit all skin types. I will be reviewing the reformulated mask soon, will keep you guys posted.

Skin Brightening Corrective Serum:

A potent little serum packed with a powerful triple brightening complex that addresses uneven skin tone and dark spots caused by aging, sun damage, and acne discoloration, while boosting the skin with an infusion of vitamins, minerals and antioxidants.

  • Organic Daisy Flower Extract: Reduces skin pigmentation by influencing five different cellular pathways, lightens and evens skin tone, reduces visibility of age spots.
  • Manuka Honey: A liquid gold natural humectant, draws moisture to the skin and feeds the skin with vital amino-acids and minerals for a natural health glow. Also is well reported internationally for it natural skin healing ability.
  • Mulberry Extract: Well known skin brightener and radiance booster that also has an anti-inflammatory effect on the skin.
  • Pomegranate Extract: Skin toning and regenerating booster.

The serum is a light weight and gets absorbed into the skin pretty quick. Having used it for several weeks I have noticed a slight difference in my sun spots, but nothing too visible. I think I need to continue use for a few more months as I can definitely see it working. It probably needs more time to completely fade my scars. Definitely worth trying if you have stubborn spots!

Manuka Honey Soaps:

Yes, I had to keep the best for the last! I fell in love with these as soon as I saw the bronze tin it came in. How chic is the packaging!

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-17 at 17.10.48 (2).jpeg
Bee’s Brilliance Soaps

The soaps comes in various flavors, each soap wrapped individually in a clear wrap that fits snug into the steel tin. The flavors are neatly labelled at the bottom of the tin so you know which one’s which.

The soaps are handcrafted the old fashion traditional cold process method, to ensure the goodness of the raw materials are retained and to help provide excellent skin moisturisation. Unlike commercially produced soaps, these soaps are safe, luxurious and unique. Handcrafted soap is soap in its true and most pure form.

These soaps are sensitive skin friendly and I have been loving them! They do get used up quick as my baths are quite long now haha 😀 I personally love the Manuka honey and Vanilla flavor, but all of them are quite good and leaves my skin very smooth, moisturized and refreshed after each use. Do check out their website for all the flavors they sell 🙂

Overall, I absolutely love the brand, their vision and more than anything the products they make! I think you should definitely check them out and I’m sure you’ll love them as much as I did 🙂 Especially recommend their cleansers and soaps which were my favorites!!

Don’t forget to leave your questions in the comments below, or you could buzz me on any of my social media xx

Much love,

N

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sheismelrose says:

    Such pretty packaging never heard about Bee Venom until now
    http://sheismelrose.net/2017/04/04/tophatter-dress/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They’re absolutely brilliant! You must def try these. I’m in love with the brand and their products !!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

